Tomatillo Salsa

A couple of weeks ago I posted a recipe for carnitas. In it, I talked about how I came across this recipe, it was my craving for chips and salsa. Call it “Mommy-brain”, but I forgot to post the salsa recipe!!! Here is that wonderful recipe that I found on 100daysofrealfood.com. I’ve always seen tomatillos in the grocery store but they seemed to intimidated me, I mean I didn’t know what to do with them once I got home. Thanks to this recipe, I am no longer afraid. 🙂 Such an easy salsa to make and different from the traditional tomato version that we all love. I wonder how many more recipes I can incorporate tomatillos into. The search begins… 🙂

Ingredients:

1 ½ lbs tomatillos (they look like little green tomatoes with husks around them)
½ cup white onion
¾ cup cilantro leaves
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1 jalapeno or serrano pepper, seeded and roughly chopped
(for an added kick, I used a little Green Pepper Tabasco Sauce – not pictured)

Preheat broiler on high.
Peel and discard husks off tomatillos. Rinse and cut tomatillos in half.

cut in half

Place cut side down on foil or parchment lined baking sheet.

in half on foil

Broil for 5 – 7 minutes until skin is lightly blackened.

blackened

Puree tomatillos and rest of ingredients together including onion, cilantro, lime, and pepper using a food processor, blender, or hand immersion blender until ingredients are finely chopped and mixed.

before blender

in blender

Cool in refrigerator until ready to serve.

ready to cool

Accompanied carnitas for a wonderful dinner.

finished

Enjoy 🙂
xoxo

recipe adapted from: 100daysofrealfood.com

Leave a Reply

