Corn Tortillas

ingredients

Have you ever thought about making your own tortillas? It crossed my mind about a year ago when I saw this tortilla press at Sur La Table and I just HAD to have it. I knew homemade tortillas had to taste better and how hard could they be to make; especially now that I had this great tortilla press. Well…the excitement of it had worn off by the time I got home when I realized I didn’t have any of the ingredients to make tortillas. So, there it sat it my cabinet just waiting to be used. A couple of weeks ago, I was at the grocery store and for no apparent reason, there was masa flour on a display in the middle of the store. After reading the directions which involved adding water, I realized that I could do this! I mean, I still had my tortilla press in my kitchen cabinet where I placed it over a year ago. The excitement of making tortillas had returned πŸ™‚ Let me tell you, this has got to be the easiest thing to make and they definitely taste a lot better than the store bought ones. Now that I’ve tasted homemade corn tortillas, I don’t think I could go back to the pre-packaged ones. I will add that a tortilla press will make your life much easier as it is almost impossible to roll them out with a rolling pin. Give them a try, you won’t be disappointed πŸ™‚

Ingredients:
Masa
Water
pinch of salt (not pictured)

ingred

Following directions on the package, mix desired amount of masa and water. Add a pinch of salt. Mix thoroughly for about 2 minutes to form soft dough. If dough feels dry, add more water (1 Tbsp at a time)

dough

Divide dough into equal balls (the number of balls equals the number of tortillas your making)

tortilla balls

Line your tortilla press with 2 sheets of plastic wrap. Place each ball between plastic and press until tortilla measures 5-6 inches in diameter. Carefully peel off plastic wrap.

ball on plastic

tortilla being pressed

tortilla after pressed

Preheat ungreased griddle or skillet. Cook tortillas for 50 seconds, turn, then cook the second side for another 50 sec.

tortillas done

Use immediately or cover with cloth napkin to keep soft and warm.

Enjoy πŸ™‚
xoxo

2 Comments »

  1. […] has got to be one of the easiest recipes and it is amazing! We made tacos with our carnitas using corn tortillas and tomatillo salsa. Both of these can be store bought or easily made. When making them yourself, […]

  2. […] 12 whole-grain corn tortillas (I used homemade) 1 rotisserie chicken or boil your own raw whole chicken or 4 chicken breasts (I […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

