Pork Carnitas

Carnitas

After having my baby a few months ago, I dreaded going back to work for obvious reasons. I know many of us financially don’t have a choice, but the emotional toll it takes is overwhelming. That being said, I knew our new daily routine that was established over the past few months was going to change drastically. Already it became clear to me that having a baby left little time to do much else. (Everyone tried to warn me, but I guess it’s hard to conceptualize until you’re living it. :)) The everyday changes that our daughter seems to make continues to amaze me and I tend to find myself in awe of her as the hours of the day tick by. As you can see, I would rather talk about her than work, and as much as I tried not to think of it, the first day back to work loomed overhead. In order to spend as much time with our baby and not spend the evening in the kitchen or being forced to grab a bowl of cereal for dinner…not that I’m saying there’s anything wrong with that because we have had our fair share of Special K dinners; I’ve decided to try to prepare something on Sunday which could last us a few nights in the week. Enter the Crock-pot. πŸ™‚ I love Crock-pot dishes, and as my sister tells me, when you walk in the house and smell dinner cooking, it’s like someone else has prepared dinner for you – always a nice feeling. πŸ™‚ In order to try to eat healthier, I have been following 100daysofrealfood.com blog and have been trying to incorporate many of her recipes into our weekly menus. The other day I was searching for a salsa recipe, because I was craving chips and salsa…who said the cravings stopped once the baby was born???….when I came across her recipe for carnitas. Let me tell you, this has got to be one of the easiest recipes and it is amazing! We made tacos with our carnitas using corn tortillas and tomatillo salsa. Both of these can be store bought or easily made. When making them yourself, you are eliminating the preservatives, you know those ingredient names that you have no idea how to pronounce let alone what it even is, and homemade, well it just always tastes better πŸ™‚ This is such an easy meal to put together which allows more time for play, snuggle and overall baby fun…always a good thing!

Ingredients:
2 to 2 1/2 lbs pork shoulder or butt roast, cut into 5 or 6 small pieces
3 teas dried oregano
2 teas black pepper
1 teas salt
1/2 teas ground cumin
1 onion, cut into 6 or 8 chunks
3 garlic cloves

For garnish (not pictured in ingredients)
Tomatillo salsa
Corn tortillas
Avocados
Fresh cilantro (optional)

ingredients

Mix together oregano, pepper, salt, and cumin.

spices mixed

Rub on outside of pork pieces. (Hubby did this part for me :))

pork on pieces

Place pork pieces in bottom of slow cooker.

bottom of slow cooker

Throw onion and garlic on top of pork.

onion, garlic

Slow cook on low for 6-8 hours or until meat is falling apart (we cooked ours on low for about 7-8 hours)

getting ready for cooking

When finished, discard the onion and garlic.

cooked

Drain meat and shred with a fork.

shredding

Serve warm with tortillas, tomatillo salsa, avocados and cilantro.

finished

Enjoy πŸ™‚
xoxo

recipe adapted from: 100daysofrealfood.com

1 Comment »

  1. […] couple of weeks ago I posted a blog about carnitas. In it, I talked about how I came across this recipe, it was my craving for chips and salsa. Call […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

