Oven Roasted Garlic Brussels Sprouts

brussel sprouts

A few weeks ago at my 28 week doctor visit, I got to do the ever so fun and tasty glucose test. Hours later I got the bad news…I’m Gestational Diabetic 😦 Wow…what a shock! Now I have the task of staying very disciplined to keep my sugar below the required numbers by testing it 4 times a day, exercising after meals, and counting my carbs. I’ve always more or less looked at the calorie and fat count, but I’ve never given any consideration to the carbs. I have to say this is a huge learning experience, but like any Mom-to-be, you will so absolutely anything that you need to do for your unborn child. So I’ve been eating alot of the same things because it is “working”, but now I’m ready to venture out a little and try new recipes while making sure that I doesn’t go above my allowed 30g of carbs per meal. I’ve been searching through my many shelves of cookbooks and internet sites to find recipes that not only sound good, but will allow me to add to my new way of eating. Yesterday I came across this recipe for Brussels sprouts. Not only do I like them, but hubby loves them as well. Let me just say, he has been such a support on this new journey, eating what I eat with the occasional cookie or ice cream bar. Well at least one of us should be able to give in to the pregnancy cravings, don’t you think? 🙂

Ingredients:
2 lbs Brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved (quartered if large)
5 cloves garlic, minced fine or pressed through a garlic press
1/2 cup water
2 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 teas sea salt
1/2 teas black pepper

ingredients

Move the oven rack to the upper third and preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In a 9×13 inch baking dish, toss together Brussels sprouts, garlic, water, olive oil, salt and pepper and spread out in a single layer.

brussels sprouts halved

Bake for 40-50 minutes until caramelized to taste, tossing once about 25 minutes into cooking time. Remove from oven and toss Brussels sprouts in the pan scraping up brown bits into the sprouts.

cooked brussels sprouts

Enjoy 🙂
xoxo

Recipe taken from: The Cooking Photographer

Leave a Reply

