Spinach Tomato Orzo Soup

I would like to thank my sister for introducing me to my newest addiction…Pinterst! Have you tried it? It is so addicting!!! I love being able to search any topic and see what so many people have added based on a certain subject. For example, the other day I searched spinach. We eat a lot of spinach in our house, but it is usually in the form of salads and I wanted to find some other ways to incorporate it into our diet. In doing so, I’ve added quite a few new recipes to my “Recipe” pinboard and decided to make this one today. This recipe is so easy to make and is so good that my hubby even went back for seconds! (One note, I did add two cans of diced tomatoes instead of the one that the recipe calls for. I would recommend doing this as it adds a little more flavor)

Ingredients:
1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 lb spinach, fresh or frozen, defrosted
1-2 (15 oz) can diced Italian tomatoes (with oregano and basil)…(I used 2 cans)
1 lb pkg orzo pasta
2 quarts chicken or vegetable stock
2 quarts water
olive oil

ingredients

Chop onions.

onions chopped

Preheat a large soup pot. Drizzle with olive oil. Add onions and saute until tender.

saute onions

Add garlic and saute for 2-3 minutes. Next add canned tomatoes.

tomatoes added

Add chicken or vegetable stock and water.

adding chicken stock

Add spinach.

spinach added

Bring to boil and reduce heat to medium.

everthing but orzo

Add orzo and cook for 12-15 minutes, or until orzo is tender.

adding orzo

cooking orzo

Ladle into bowls and serve.

soup in bowl
recipe adapted from: babble.com

Enjoy 🙂
xoxo

Leave a Reply

