Ooey Gooey

Slice of Ooey Gooey

I, just as all of you know, is that you NEVER go to the grocery store hungry! Well the other day I went to the store with my list in hand, determined to ONLY get the items on my list, but the problem was…I was STARVING! I did ok and made it through the store with only the necessary items. Whew…all I needed to do was get through the check-out line. That darn check-out line! That’s where they have all that candy just staring at you waiting for people like me with wavering self control. What harm could one candy bar do…and that Heath Bar was calling my name. I mean it would be enough to calm my growling stomach until I got home and then I could prepare a healthy dinner. Well I’ll tell you what harm that Heath Bar can do. The whole way home I was thinking “Wow! this is a really good candy bar and it’s been a long time since I’ve had one.” Now that one Heath Bar got me searching for my Aunt Susan’s recipe of Ooey Gooey. When we were young, my mom made this recipe a few times and it never lasted very long in our house. If you like Heath Bars…chocolate pudding…ice cream…Cool Whip, then this is the recipe for you.
(One note, this recipe calls for Lorna Doone cookies, but our grocery store was out. Go figure, but there was a rush on Lorna Doone cookies. I instead used Pepperidge Farm Chessman cookies which were an okay substitution, but if you can find Lorna Doone cookies, I would use those.)

Ingredients:
1/4 lb margarine or butter, melted (I used 1/2 lb of butter with the Pepperidge Farm Chessman)
1 box Lorna Doone Shortbread cookies, crushed (or 2 pkgs of Pepperidge Farm Chessman)
2 (3.9 oz) pkg Jello Instant Chocolate Pudding mix
1 quart ice cream (English Toffee, Heath, Butter Brickle, Butter Pecan, or Rocky Road)
2 Cups cold milk
1 (8 oz) Cool Whip
3 large Heath Bars, crushed and chopped

ingredients

Crush cookies

cookies in mixer

cookies crushed

Mix the first 2 ingredients and put in a 9×13 pan. Bake 10 minutes at 350 deg F. Cool.

crust in dish

Mix milk and instant pudding.

pudding mix in bowl

milk and pudding mix

Mix ice cream into pudding mixture.

ice cream mixed in

Pour onto baked cookie crust. Let set in refrigerator.

mix poured onto crust

mixture on crust

Meanwhile, crush Heath Bars.

Heath in bag

Heath crushed

Top with Cool Whip.

Cool Whip on pudding

Sprinkle with crushed Heath Bars.

Heath Bars on Cool Whip

Slice of Ooey Gooey

Enjoy 🙂
xoxo

1 Comment »

  1. […] think my Heath Bar infatuation is continuing! While searching for the Ooey Gooey recipe, I came across this recipe for these incredible cookies. Years ago, my parents and their […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

