Pesto

I don’t know about you, but I love pesto. Growing up, it seemed like the only time we would have pesto is when we would visit my Grandma out in CA. It was truly one of the meals that we always requested, along with her pasties, chocolate chip cookies, and rocky road :). But seriously her pesto on simple pasta was one of those good “comfort foods” that will forever be tied to Grandma. Last summer I had basil growing out of every pot imaginable and hubby was getting a little impatient wondering what I was going to do with all this basil. Well I decided to make pesto. Now there is nothing difficult about it, but it does take a lot of fresh basil. Good thing I had a ton, but now with winter here, it’s obviously not the easiest time to come across bunches of this fragrant and tasty herb. But not to worry….have you ever noticed how Costco has everything? I don’t know about you, but there is something about walking into that huge warehouse and wondering “What will I find today that I didn’t know I needed, but now I know I can’t live without?” My sister had been telling me about their pesto and like me, we know what Grandma’s tasted like and if my sister said this is good, then I am willing to give it a shot.

costco pesto

Tonight I think I am going to recreate the simple pesto on pasta dinner that Grandma used to make. Will let you know how it compares tomorrow. Ooh… I’m hungry now, if only my workday would go a little quicker! Until then….
xoxo

1 Comment »

  1. tuttysan said

    We go to Costco almost every week, and I’ve never noticed the pesto. I usually get it from TJ’s. Just discovered it last night while looking for my own way to make their pesto salmon.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

