Green and Red Lentil Enchiladas

close up pic

A few weeks ago, my husband and I were shopping at Whole Foods Market when I started observing all the bulk food items they had for sale. I’ve been looking for a way to incorporate more “real foods” into our diet without all the added preservatives. I decided to buy a few bulk items to keep on hand in order to make our transition a little easier. One of the items I purchased was red lentils. I don’t know why I picked this, but I felt that I would be able to find a recipe without a problem. One of my newly acquired cookbooks is Peas and Thank You. Simple Meatless Meals the Whole Family Will Love. Although my husband and I are not vegan, we do enjoy eating meatless meals. After a long day at work, and an even longer drive home I was wondering if I really wanted to tackle this new recipe tonight or save it for the weekend. Well, I ended up deciding to make these enchiladas and we are both sure glad that I did. Not only did it not take very long, it was also very good. In fact my husband kept telling me how much he really enjoyed it, which is always a good sign. In our house, when trying new recipes, I ask my husband if it (the recipe) is a “do over”. Before we finished our dinner, my husband was already telling me, “this is a definite do over”. With enchiladas left , dinner is sure going to be easy tomorrow night.

cabinet

Green and Red Lentil Enchiladas

1 30-ounce can of prepared green enchilada sauce, divided
1 1/2 cups water
1 cup red lentils, rinsed and drained
¼ cup chopped onion
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped (optional)
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
8-10 corn tortillas
2 cups non-dairy or organic cheese (I used regular cheese)
14 ounce can sliced olives, drained ( I did not use due to my husband’s aversion to olives)

Trimmings: Organic sour cream, chopped cilantro, shredded lettuce, diced fresh tomatoes and or salsa

ingredients
Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Bring one-third of enchilada sauce and water to a boil in a medium saucepan. Add lentils, onion and jalapeno, if using, and cook approximately 15 to 20 minutes.

lentils in pot

Liquid should be absorbed completely and lentils should be tender

liquid absorbed

Stir in chopped cilantro and set aside.

lentils with cilantro

Meanwhile, wrap 8 to 10 tortillas in damp paper towels and microwave for approximately 30 to 45 seconds to soften.

Pour one-third of the green enchilada sauce in the bottom of a 9×13-inch baking dish.

Put several spoonfuls of the lentil mixture into each tortilla and roll, placing the tortilla seamside down in the prepared pan. Repeat with remaining tortillas.

Pour remaining green enchilada sauce over rolled tortillas.

lentils before cheese

Top with cheese and sliced olives (if using)

lentils with cheese

Bake enchiladas for 20 to 25 minutes, until heated through and cheese is melted

lentils cooked

Pass trimmings at table.

close up pic

Adapted from: Peas and Thank You. Simple Meatless Meals the Whole Family Will Love.

Leave a Reply

