“Baking Friday’s” – Carrot Cake Cupcakes

The other day in talking with my sister and sister-in-law, I mentioned that I was going to start “Meatless Mondays”. I recently read about the idea in a magazine and thought it was a great idea. My husband, growing up on a Vermont dairy farm, was raised on meat and potatoes. He does like most vegetables, so I’m lucky there, but he feels that most meals should include some sort of meat. When I mentioned to him about no meat on Mondays, he was supportive, but not very enthusiastic. My sister-in-law told me that she liked “Meatless Mondays”, and that she does “Baking Fridays”. When she said that, my husband was a lot more excited than I ever expected. He was thrilled that Fridays would be dedicated to “bacon”. You can imagine his disappointment when I told him it was “baking” and not “bacon”. In order not to hinder my husband’s enthusiasm, occasionally I will have “Bacon Fridays”. This past Friday, I decided to start off my baking with my mom’s carrot cake. I always loved this cake and especially the cream cheese frosting. There is no way that my husband and I need a whole cake to nibble on throughout the week, so I decided to make cupcakes and that way I could give some away.

CARROT CAKE CUPCAKES

2 C flour
2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp baking soda
2 C sugar
4 eggs
1-1/2 oil
3 C carrots, grated

Frosting:
1 (8oz) pkg cream cheese
1/2 C butter
2 tsp vanilla
1 lb box powdered sugar
1 C walnuts, chopped
Baking Friday

Preheat oven to 350
Sift dry ingredients
Add eggs and oil, beat on low until blended
Stir in carrots
Pour mixture into lined muffin tin
Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. (Check starting at 20 minutes by inserting a toothpick and when it comes out clean, remove from oven. I removed mine at 23 minutes.)

Frost with cream cheese frosting

Leave a Reply

